The Thought Chapter CD


5 in stock

  • Visa Card
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • Apple Pay

The Thought Chapter was the name of the band I formed with my best friend and his brother in high school.

We put up flyers around school saying we were available to perform at weddings and events. Demo tape available upon request!

Wouldn’t you know it, we got a request and had to put together the tape in one weekend! It was bad and we didn’t get the gig.

I’m not sure we ever performed at all, but at least we had a cool name that I’d be able to put to use one day.

The backbone of the album is a virtual drum machine called Limelite, part of a ”build-a-synth” software suite called Reaktor. There was a preset called “Music” that formed the backbone of the most popular track, “We’re Not Getting Any Younger.”

What I didn’t realize at the time was that the preset title was a reference to Madonna’s song by the same name, which I unknowingly stole the groove from.

The other standout is “If It’s My Time to Go” which was a Grand Prize winner in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest. I received approximately $8000 in cash and gear, including a 1000 CD manufacturing package and Ableton Live, the recording software I still use to this day.

Oh yeah, “If Not Now When” was featured in the Rock Band video game!

The four tracks that didn’t make the album are featured on a follow-up EP called Second Thoughts, along with 6 remixes.

This one’s officially out of print, but I received a handful of copies back from a distributor.

  1. Figured Out
  2. Zero Crossing
  3. We’re Not Getting Any Younger
  4. Hypothetically
  5. If Not Now When
  6. I Should’ve Kissed You
  7. Behind the Rhine
  8. Photobooth
  9. I Stand By My Mistakes
  10. Pins and Needles
  11. If It’s My Time to Go
  12. Our Shadow
  • In 6-panel matte Digipak, limited to 1000 copies worldwide
  • Includes immediate download in high-quality 320 kbps mp3 format

You may also like…