The Sound Now Available for Pre-Order

The new Color Theory album, The Sound, is now available for pre-order, shipping on or before August 4. The CD is packaged in a beautiful 6-panel Digipak with original art by himitsuhana, limited to 1,000 copies worldwide. You can place your order here.

Here’s a taste of each of the album’s 10 tracks:

In addition to the standard Limited Edition CD, I’m trying out something that to my knowledge has never been done before: The Individual Edition CD.

It will probably come as a surprise that I can’t create the exact same mix twice, even though the album was recorded entirely “in the box” on my studio computer. Arpeggiators randomly cycle through the notes of a chord. Panning effects start and end at different points. Some devices purposely insert glitches and other random anomalies. Beyond the occasional surprise, these differences are tough to pick out unless you know what to listen for. The qualitative listening experience is the same, but the fact that each mixdown is an “audio snowflake” gave me an idea:

As a souvenir of your support, I will create a personalized custom CD featuring unique mixdowns of each of the 12 songs I recorded for the album. The outtakes “Touch” and “Release the Hounds” are not on the standard Limited Edition CD and will not appear on any future physical release. The disc will open with a token of my appreciation – a spoken “thank you” mentioning you by name.

The Individual Edition CD is available through July 31. Keeping in mind that it takes me three hours to prepare each one, I’ve priced it at $99, which also includes a copy of the standard Limited Edition version. I don’t have much spare time to devote to this, so I can only take the first 20 orders. They will ship as soon as the CDs arrive, most likely before the August 4 release date.

If you can think of anything I can do to make it more special or meaningful, please let me know!

13 thoughts on “The Sound Now Available for Pre-Order”

  1. The clips sound awesome!!

    I love the Individual Edition concept, but since I don’t have $99 to spare at the moment, I’ll stick to “just” pre-ordering the “un-individual” edition. Once money comes in. I can’t wait!

  2. hope i can order one of those 1000 copies- it’d be AWESOME to get one of those! Good luck Brian on all your work this 2010 and in your future projects, and i can’t wait to hear this album- i know you’ve been anticipating it as much as we have & i love to hear a fellow keyboardist’s work đŸ˜‰ take care, all the best, and have an awesome 2010 as usual dude!

    -DJ Oxygen

  3. Yeah…I’m in the same boat. 3 kids, 2 grownups, 1 income, 1 mortgage….and us military-types don’t make THAT much to start with. As much as I’d love an Individual Edition…..I’m going to have to “settle” for what I know will be an AWESOME regular edition Color Theory album!

    I can’t believe it’s finally here! Woo Hoo!!

  4. Thanks for the generous words of support!

    While $99 won’t get you into a U2 concert, it’s definitely an investment. You guys know by now that I’m not in this for the money, but the money I do make allows me to devote more time to Color Theory. I’d like to avoid another 5-year gap between albums, like I had between my Depeche Mode tribute and The Thought Chapter. To put things in perspective, this album took about 600 hours to create.

    A couple of you emailed to tell me your Individual Edition CD orders failed on the last step. Other Individual Edition CD orders have gone through just fine, both domestically and internationally, so I’m not sure what’s up. If it happens to you, shoot me an email at and I’ll save you one of the remaining slots. We can work out payment details later.

  5. Actually, U2 has those $30 “General Admission” tickets to the standing only floor section, though whether you can actually get one of those tickets is another issue. Just gotta stand up for my boys! đŸ˜‰

    It sounds like your limited edition idea is already a success, and will make 20 people very happy. Very creative!

  6. How synchronistic. I was just thinking, “I wonder if Brian will put out another album soon?” Perfect timing – I look forward to hearing the new work.
    Your fan, as ever,

  7. will the 2 bonus tracks from the individual editions cd be available to download in time? as although i don’t have the money for that version sadly (no matter how much i wish), touch is one of my favourite tracks.

    in further news…waking up to this has truly made my day

  8. No promises John, but they may appear on a follow-up EP at some point. That’ll depend on how well the album does, and how many quality remixes come in. If so, it’ll be a digital-only release.

    I woke up to a couple emails asking if the Individual Edition CD is sold out. More than half the slots are taken, but as long as the option appears on the order page, it’s still available.

    I can’t tell you how flattered and appreciative I am for all your wonderful support! Even though it’s going to be a lot of work, I’m genuinely looking forward to putting these packages together. I’ve gotten some interesting special requests so far, all of which I’m happy to fulfill.

Share Your Thoughts